Updated COVID Protocols

Effective January 1, 2022, proof of vaccination is required for all faculty, staff and students taking on-campus classes or accessing on-campus services. More information, including specifics for prospective students and visitors, is available at dccc.edu/vaccine-info. Face masks are required in all indoor facilities.

Delaware County Community College, Serving Delaware and Chester Counties

Dr. L. Joy Gates Black One of 10 Community College Presidents Elected to National Board for U.S. Community Colleges

Dr. L. Joy Gates Black photo(Note: The following is a reprint of a press release put out today by the AACC)

Washington, D.C. (April 22, 2019)—The American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) represents the nation’s 1,051 community colleges and is governed by a 32-member Board of Directors. Ten community college presidents were recently elected to serve on the American Association of Community Colleges’ Board of Directors.

 • Dr. L. Joy Gates Black, President, Delaware County Community College
 • Brent Knight, President, Lansing Community College in Michigan
 • Anne Kress, President, Monroe Community College in New York
 • Sandra Massey, Chancellor, Arkansas State University – Newport
 • Gerald Napoles, President, Lone Star College – North Harris in Texas
 • Phil Neal, President, Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College
 • Joseph Schaffer, President, Laramie County Community College in Wyoming
 • Sheree Utash, President, WSU Tech in Kansas
 • Charlotte Warren, President, Lincoln Land Community College in Illinois
 • Kristine Young, President, Orange County Community College in New York

The new board members will begin their terms on July 1 and join 22 existing members. Also effective July 1, Cuyahoga Community College president Dr. Alex Johnson will begin his term as chair. Johnson replaces Community College of Baltimore County’s president, Dr. Sandra Kurtinitis, who will serve as the past chair for the 2019-2020 term.

“The AACC Board of Directors acts on behalf of our member colleges to create and maintain a vision for AACC and to advocate on behalf of the community colleges we serve,” said Walter G. Bumphus, president and CEO. “We are thrilled to have these esteemed colleagues join the board, and know they will bring their unique talents and leadership to advance the nation’s community colleges in Washington, D.C. and throughout the country.”

About the American Association of Community Colleges
As the voice of the nation’s community colleges, the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC), delivers educational and economic opportunity for 12 million diverse students in search of the American Dream. Uniquely dedicated to access and success for all students, AACC’s nearly 1,000 member colleges provide an on-ramp to degree attainment, skilled careers and family-supporting wages. Located in Washington, D.C., AACC advocates for these not-for-profit, public-serving institutions to ensure they have the resources and support they need to deliver on the mission of increasing economic mobility for all.


Back to News and Information


2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010
Subscribe to Delaware County Community College News