The Gould Award

Each year a College-wide search is launched for a full- or part-time faculty member for excellent performance. New nominations, self-nomination, or previous recipient nominations are all encouraged.

The award is made possible by and endowment established by the late Mrs. Jerry Gould, who was a former member of the Board of Trustees at the College. It is given at commencement each year to a faculty member and the winner's name is inscribed on a plaque bearing the names of previous recipients.

Nominate a Faculty Member for the Gould Award >>

“Faculty embody the spirit and philosophy of the College. Through their classroom contacts, they can aid students in learning, help them to increase their knowledge and spark spirit and energy. Within the faculty are individuals whose commitment, achievement and love for what they do inspire both students and colleagues. It is these faculty members whom the Gould Award is established to honor and, by honoring them, to encourage others to emulate.” 

Mrs. Jerry Gould

Anyone with knowledge of faculty performance in the classroom may nominate full-time or part-time faculty for this award: the deadline for nominations is usually the last Friday of March.

Gould Award recipients are selected by a panel of five faculty and two students on the basis of their demonstrated excellence in the classroom, and the impact they have on the lives of students.

Award Winners

  • 2014 Kathy Schank
  • 2013 Stephen Smith
  • 2012 Elaine Dreisbaugh
  • 2011  Bela Dadhich
  • 2010  David Robson
  • 2009  Christine Gibian
  • 2008  Tom Dowd
  • 2007  Linda A. Durkin
  • 2006  Anthony Daly-Leonard
  • 2005  Patricia Contrisciani
  • 2004  Michael Johnson
  • 2003  Steven Aquilani
  • 2002  Lana deRuyter
  • 2001  David Gates
  • 2000  Sarah Singer
  • 1999  Janet Urbanelli
  • 1998  Dessa Crawford
  • 1997  Carol A. Lillis
  • 1996  John Cronin
  • 1995  William K. Yeager
  • 1995  Patrick McDaid
  • 1994  Dorothy Russo
  • 1993  John F. McCormack, Jr.
  • 1992  George Spillane
  • 1992  Juanita Schultz
  • 1991  Doris K. Benfer
  • 1990  Margaret Schlairet
  • 1989  Harry LeFever
  • 1988  Raymond Maruca