Alumni Awards

2015 Alumni Award Winners

Jeanie Heffernan '85

Jeanie Heffernan '85
Wong Moss Outstanding Alumni Award 
Senior Vice President, Human Resources
Independence Blue Cross

Melissa Maani '94

Melissa Maani '94
Alumni Professional Achievement Award
Manager, Graphic Design
Philadelphia Phillies

The Wong Moss Outstanding Alumni Award

This award recognizes distinguished alumni for their outstanding professional, community and educational accomplishments. It was created by the late Barbara Wong Moss, a former College trustee, and her son John in honor of her father, a Chinese immigrant who believed in the value of education. The selection process for this award usually takes place in the fall. Click HERE for more about the award.

Anyone, including faculty and staff, may submit nominations. Alumni may also nominate themselves. Nomination form for the Wong Moss Outstanding Alumni Award.

The 2015 winner, Jeanie Heffernan, leads the People Strategy for the Independence Blue Cross Family of companies. In this role she helps the organization to build a culture of People With Purpose and ensures that it is fully engaging its talent and has the right organizational structure in place to achieve the Business strategy and goals. As part of her daily responsibilities, she oversees Benefits, Human Resource Operations, Talent Management, Talent Acquisition, Associate Communications & Engagement, Compensation, Human Resource Metrics and Technology and Independence University.

She also has been active in the non-profit arena over the course of her career and has served on the boards of the Peoples Emergency Center, The Veteran’s Group and currently with Graduate Philadelphia, Finally, for over 10 years, she has been an active volunteer with Rebuilding Together Philadelphia, which helps to improve the homes and lives of low-income homeowners.

Past Winners  

  • 2014 - Louis Belliace '88
  • 2013 - Denise Romanelli '94
  • 2012 - Joseph Oaster Jr. '89
  • 2011 - Stephen Brown (ALCR '80)
  • 2008 - Joseph F. McGinn '75
  • 2007 - Robert M. Madonna '74
  • 2005 - Edward DiPilla '85
  • 2004 - Nicholas A. Pacitti '73
  • 2003 - George Hettenbach '79
  • 2002 - Wilma Ferdinando Charles '92
  • 2001 - James Mendez '93
  • 2000 - Robert B. Oliver '73
  • 1999 - Mitchel Robbins '74
  • 1998 - Kenneth J.D. Boyden '84
  • 1997 - The Hon. W. Curtis Weldon '73
  • 1996 - B. Rena Huntsman '78
  • 1995 - John DiBuonaventuro '75
  • 1994 - Carol Cunningham Base '83
  • 1993 - Thomas J. Davis '74
  • 1992 - Kathleen Breslin Walker '88
  • 1991 - Jacqueline Butcher '91
  • 1990 - James Reaves '76

The Alumni Professional Achievement Award annually recognizes Delaware County Community College graduates who are accomplished in their profession, having demonstrated a significant level of distinction within their chosen field. To qualify, the nominee must have successfully completed at least 15 academic credits at the College.  

The Alumni Professional Achievement Award

Anyone, including faculty and staff, may submit nominations. Alumni may also nominate themselves. Nomination form for the Alumni Professional Achievement Award

Past Winners

  • 2014 - Dr. Dori Lawson '03, Nurse Practitioner, Cardiology Associates of West Reading
  • 2013 - Frank J. McKee '70, President of The McKee Group
  • 2012 - Laura Kasper '84, Chief Executive Officer, Monarch Staffing
  • 2011 - Robert F. Downey '74, Former Assistant Special Agent in Charge FBI Philadelphia Field Office
  • 2010 - Jane Griffin '82, Information Assurance Manager, National Air & Space Intelligence Center

  • 2009 - Susan F. Haindl ’84, Managing Director, Operations The Pew Charitable Trusts
  • 2008 - Robert R. Mandos, Jr. ’78, Senior Vice President and Controller. AMETEK
  • 2007 - Mel Lindauer ’81, Financial advisor, author, business entrepreneur
  • 2006 - James Benoit, Jr. ’95, Owner Benoit Czarnecki Design/
    Construction LLC
  • 2005 - Linda Vona-Davis, Ph.D. ’74, Associate Professor of Surgery, Department of Surgery West Virginia University
  • 2004 - Keith Huss, Ph.D. ’81, Principal Analyst
    Abbott Bioresearch Center
  • 2003 - Moira G. Kelly ’75, Senior Trust Advisor
    PNC Wealth Management
  • 2002 - John Mulvaney, Master of Fine Arts, Boston University. John Simon Guggenheim Memorial 
    Foundation of New York Fellowship


The Star Alumni Awards

The Star Alumni Awards were introduced in 2002 as part of the College’s 35th anniversary celebration. At that time 35 individuals were honored for their outstanding achievement and/or contributions to the community (See "35th Anniversary Star Alumni" picture below). 

In 2007, in celebration of the College's 40th anniversary, five more stars were added to the Galaxy and three Rising Stars were named for their early successes after finishing at the College (see below). The next Star Awards are slated to be presented on September 28, 2012, when five more stars will be added.

In 2012, five additional stars and four rising stars were added to celebrate the College's 45th anniversary.

45th Anniversary Star Alumni 

2012 Rising Stars

Johnny Archer

Johnny Archer ’06
News reporter, 
ABC Affiliate WHAS-11, Louisville, Ky
Esther Castilo

Esther Castillo ’06
Advance College Consulting
Celia Cheung

Hiu Sin Cheung '06

Advance College Consulting
Catherine Melissa Porter

Dr. Catherine Porter ‘97

Breast Cancer Surgical Oncology
Stanford University School of Medicine


40th Anniversary Star Alumni  

Demopoulos '75

Hunter Jr. '69

Daniel J.
McCormick '89

Kapusta-Singer '92

Capt. E. J. 
Quinn '78

40th Anniversary Rising Stars 

Click a thumbnail to see background information on these esteemed Alums, and for more pictures.

Brian Ciach '88

Blake Joffe '97

Scott Neely '02 




35th Anniversary Star Alumni 

Bottom row (l-r): Madeline Lambrecht, EdD; Renee Robbins; Michael Duff, Esq.; Paul Donohue, Jr.; Joseph DiJulio; Dr. Richard DeCosmo, College president; Thomas Davis; Cecile Charlton; Denis Boyle; Ella Mae McFarland; Middle row (l-r): W. Curtis Weldon; Jack Taddeo; Kathleen Walker; William Sockwell; Phyllis Corsi Sockwell; Grant Mazmanian, CPBA, CPVA; Albert Kendro, Jr.; David Horvath, CCP; Susan Hilferty, CPA; Patricia Frank, RN, BSN, OCN; Wilma Fernando-Charles; Patricia Hughes Donnelly, Esq; John DiBuonaventuro; Top row (l-r): Patrick Tomlinson; Erik Schultz; Jim Battagliese; John Rafner; Robert Oliver, CCP; John O’Connor; James Mendez, MSN, CRNP; Deborah Affonsa; Martin Finsterbusch; Bruce Madariaga. Not pictured here, Rosario Maiolino, John O’Connor; Priscilla Fox Pfizenmeyer.